Area Agency on Aging

Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) were established under the Older Americans Act (OAA) in 1973 to respond to the needs of Americans 60 and over in every local community. By providing a range of options that allow older adults to choose the home and community-based services and living arrangements that suit them best, AAAs make it possible for older adults to remain in their homes and communities as long as possible.

Triangle J Area Agency on Aging

The Triangle J Area Agency on Aging (TJAAA) is housed within and is a part of the Triangle J Council of Governments (TJCOG). Triangle J covers a seven county area.

Triangle J Council of Governments is governed by a Board of Delegates. As the designated Area Agency on Aging, TJCOG appoints a regional Aging Advisory Council that offers guidance and recommendations both to the Area Agency staff and the TJCOG Board of Delegates.

TJAAA has three areas of concentration that focus efforts in particular directions:


  • oversight of all AAA functions
  • administration of Home and Community Care Block Grant funds & services
  • planning
  • advocacy
  • technical assistance
  • training
  • education
  • outreach
  • problem resolution
  • other roles as needed


  • problem resolution for older adults in long-term care facilities
  • oversight of Community Advisory Committees
  • advocacy for resident's rights and other long-term care issues
  • training


  • identify needs
  • provide information
  • assist with service access
  • training and problem solving
  • respite
  • complementary services